The Interstate Coordination Water Commission (ICWC) of Central Asia on the regulation, rational use and protection of water resources of interstate sources was created in pursuance of the Agreement between the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan, signed on February 18, 1992 in Almaty. The Commission is a collective parity body of the Central Asian states, operating on the basis of equality, justice and consensus of opinions. By decisions of the Heads of State of Central Asia dated March 23, 1993 and April 9, 1999, ICWC and its units, including SIC ICWC, are part of the International Fund for Saving the Aral Sea (IFAS) and have the status of international organizations.

The ICWC executive bodies have identified the Amu Darya and Syr Darya Basin Water Organizations (BWOs), the Scientific Information Center (SIC), the Coordination Metrology Center (CMC) and the Secretariat.

BWOs organize planning of releases regimes and distribution of water resources, immediate operational implementation of decisions adopted by the ICWC at its meetings in terms of water distribution, water supply and release schedules, and water quality management.

The Scientific Information Center is an analytical and informational body in the development of principles and ways for the prospective development of the water sector of the Central African Republic, improvement of management and improvement of the ecological situation in the basin.

SIC ICWC operates in conjunction with a network of scientific and design organizations of five Central Asian countries, has national branches in the Central Asian republics, which, in turn, organize scientific and information exchange at the national level.

Information comes to SIC from all over the world, is processed, translated and distributed in the interests of information support for the water sector of Central Asian states.

The SIC ICWC includes:

Foreign Relations Department
Regional Information and Computing Center
Department of Scientific and Technical Information and Publishing
Research Planning Department
Design Department
Department of Continuing Education

Branches of SIC ICWC:

Kazakh branch
Kyrgyz branch
Tajik branch